Nigerian Superstars Burna Boy and Tems Shine at the 2023 BET Awards

The 2023 BET Awards, held on Sunday night, celebrated the achievements of hip-hop’s biggest stars from the past year. Nigerian superstars Burna Boy and Tems emerged victorious, while Davido delivered a captivating performance at the event.

Tems was recognized in the Best Collaboration category for her contribution to the Grammy award-winning song “Wait For U” alongside Future and Drake.

The star-studded event featured impressive performances by rap legends including KRS1, Big Daddy, and Fat Joe.

Here is the full list of winners:

Album of the Year:

  • SOS – SZA
  • RENAISSANCE – Beyoncé

Best Collaboration:

  • “Wait For U” – Future feat. Drake & Tems

Best Female R&B/Pop Artist:

  • SZA

Best Male R&B/Pop Artist:

  • Chris Brown
  • Usher

Best New Artist:

  • Coco Jones

Best Group:

  • Drake x 21 Savage

Best Female Hip Hop Artist:

  • Latto

Best Male Hip Hop Artist:

  • Kendrick Lamar

Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award:

  • “Bless Me” – Maverick City Music & Kirk Franklin

BET Her Award:

  • “Break My Soul” – Beyoncé

Video of the Year:

  • “Kill Bill” – SZA

Video Director of the Year:

  • Teyana “Spike Tey” Taylor

Best Movie:

  • Black Panther: Wakanda Forever

Best Actress:

  • Angela Bassett

Best Actor:

  • Damson Idris

Youngstars Award:

  • Marsai Martin

Sportswoman of the Year:

  • Angel Reese

Sportsman of the Year:

  • Jalen Hurts

Viewer’s Choice Award:

  • “Break My Soul” – Beyoncé

Best International Act:

  • Burna Boy

The 2023 BET Awards showcased the outstanding talent and accomplishments of artists from various genres. Burna Boy and Tems’ wins highlight the global recognition of Nigerian music, solidifying their positions as prominent figures in the industry. With electrifying performances and deserving accolades, the event celebrated the excellence and impact of hip-hop culture.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *